with Melinda Rodriguez

Are you a woman who wants to change the world?  If I may, allow me to share a powerful secret that will grace you with the very tools that would aid you in your mission.  What is this secret?  Give yourself the audacity and loving permission to see yourself as scrumptiously, succulently, beautiful and flaunt that gorgeousness as if you are the queen of an exotic empire.  And as you strut your stuff, the key to the real power contained in this prayer to the universe is to walk your path with the awareness that everyone you encounter is also queen and king of their own exotic empire, even if they appear not to know this yet.  Because you honoring your intrinsic beauty as you honor the same in others inspires this very awareness in everyone you come across creating a domino effect unveiling the deepest depth of potential in humanity.  In other words, as Mama Gena says…”a gratified woman benefits everyone.”

cab9412058ba03272fe50eb8bc94514aThose are essentially a lot of fluffy words trying to describe the universal law of “owning it.”  I’m sure you have come across a woman who “owns it” and have thought to yourself, WOW.  Maybe your small mind chimed in with a few insults to make itself feel better, but no doubt your higher mind had some input as well that observed the power of a woman owning herself as flawlessly, imperfectly perfect.  Maybe she wasn’t a size 2, but her aura of confidence in her beauty, as is, made her the most alluring creature on earth at any size.  Maybe she wasn’t what you normally think of as conventionally “pretty” but the way she carried herself with such warm and outreaching audacity created a beauty in her that far exceeded convention; and damned if she didn’t have the men folk buzzing around her like bees to honey.  This is what I call the universal law of owning it.  It takes fake-it-till-you-make-it to the next level.  Owning it asks you to reach deep within and bring forth the truth that YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL, even with your perceived flaws, which by the way, almost no one sees but you!

I have a dear friend that taught me this law through osmosis.  She is a hippie kinda gal and most comfortable in hippie kinda clothes.  In Orange County, CA where we stomp around, a hippie is a bit of a foreign concept.  It’s on an upswing now, maybe because of my friend, but we’ve been stomping around before boho was trendy.  Anyhow, she is the epitome of owning it.  She could have pie on her face, ripped clothes and shoes that don’t match and not only do all the men flock to her, but really everyone loves her.  She is not boastful as in I’m-better-than-you, but owns it in a way that completely repels judgment and actually invites others to own theirs.  She’s like the pied piper of owning it.

I on the other hand have dealt with a poor self image most of my life.  I’m sure many of you reading this can relate in some way or another.  However, over the years I have had the deeply juicy opportunity to fall madly in love with myself, not just on the inside, but on the outside too.  It is a work in progress and like everyone I have good days and bad days.  What is important to understand about owning it, is that it must be cultivated, nurtured and practiced.

I’m sure you can conjure up a memory of when you felt beautiful.  In the moments of that feeling you uplift others with the awareness of your light.  When you are owning it, you recognize that your beauty comes from within and transforms whatever perceived flaws you are identifying about yourself.  Walking through life with that kind of perception taps into the law of attraction in all of its glory; everywhere you go you are not only uplifting yourself but you are uplifting others and bringing them into the vortex.  That’s changing the world from a grass roots level.

So, I’m going to share something with you now as an action of power in invoking my own universal law of owning it.  This weekend I have to attend a beach party.  I’m honestly not a huge fan of the beach with the exception of sunrise and sunset.  Otherwise, its messily sandy, overly sunny, ruins hair and here in So Cal is full of girls with lots of silicone in skimpy little bikinis that in the past I have allowed to make me feel inferior.  But you know what; I contain enough gorgeousness both inside and out that we can all share the beauty.  I’m going to sport my own bikini at 43 and I’m going to own it!  I am going to rock it like I’m Kim Kardashian before photo shopping.  I’m not only doing this for myself, but as a living message that Hollywood can go f@$# off!

Are you with me sisters?  And brothers…when you honor the beauty in every woman, you too are changing the world.  So as we all go into the season of summer and feeling way to hot to wear too many clothes lets all OWN IT together and stop the madness.  Let’s uplift and inspire our own magnificence as we uplift and inspire everyone around us.

In Rhythm & Harmony,

Melinda

Leave a Reply

